Facts on Allergies and Dietaries

Allergens

If you have a food allergy, you may be at risk of a life-threatening allergic reaction (anaphylaxis).  The most commonly implicated foods worldwide are peanuts, tree nuts,  soy,  milk,  egg,  sesame seeds, fish and shellfish.  Please be advised that some of our products contain such allergens with the exception of those labeled “FREE-FROM” and guaranteed to be exempt of such ingredients by the manufacturer.
Most of the information is provided by the manufacturer on the label of every item, and on our respective description page,  however,  please ensure the recipient of the product reads the nutrition information of each item prior to consuming and if you or the recipient is in doubt either contact us or the manufacturer directly. Asta  Free  From Foods and BRUK (Pegler & Henchenski) International Ltd accepts no responsibility for any illness caused by consuming the products.

Gluten Free Products

If you have  Celiac disease with a food intolerance,  you are not at risk of anaphylaxis and may be able to eat small amounts of the offending food without trouble, as food intolerance symptoms are generally less serious by eating gluten, a protein found in wheat and other grains, and often limited to digestive problems.
Our products are either naturally Gluten Free and have been certified as Gluten Free by the manufacturer or/and approved by  Coeliac UK. Please ensure the recipient of the product reads the nutrition information of each item prior to consuming and if you or the recipient is in doubt over the  Gluten Free status of any of the products please either contact us or the manufacturer directly.  Asta Free From Foods and BRUK (Pegler & Henchenski) International Ltd accepts no responsibility for any illness caused by consuming gluten contaminated products.

Sugar Free and Diabetic Products

Both Cancer Research UK  and the US National Cancer Institute  say:  sweeteners don’t cause cancer
If you’re living with diabetes, want to lose weight or you’re trying to keep your blood glucose levels stable, according to non-nutritive sweeteners usually found in sugar free foods can help reduce your overall carbohydrate and calorie intake if you substitute it for sugar.
Both EU Food Law and the United States FDA guidelines which regulate what food manufacturers can claim on a label require that a food must contain no more than 0.5 grams for solids or 100ml liquid to be labeled as sugar free. 
No added sugars claims may only be made where the product does not contain any added mono- or disaccharides or any other food used for its sweetening properties.  If sugars are naturally present in the food, the following indication should also appear on the label: CONTAINS NATURALLY OCCURRING SUGARS‘. Whilst Low sugars claims ‘ may only be made where the product contains no more than 5g of sugar per 100 g for solids or 2,5 g of sugar per 100 ml for liquid.
If a food is labeled “sugar free” or “no added sugar/low sugars,” it does not mean that the food is low calorie or carbohydrate-free. The best source of information on a food label is the nutrition facts panel, which lists the calorie content, total carbohydrate, and sugar content as well as a complete list of ingredients.
Our products that are low in sugar should only be consumed in moderation and as part of the consumer’s normal diet.  Please ensure the recipient of the product reads the nutrition information of each item prior to consuming and if you or the recipient is in doubt over the  Sugar Free status of any of the products please either contact us or the manufacturer directly.  Asta Free From Foods and BRUK (Pegler & Henchenski) International Ltd accepts no responsibility for any illness caused by consuming the products.

Vegetarianism and Vegan

Is the practice of abstaining from the consumption of meat (red meat, poultry, seafood, and the flesh of any other animal), and may also include abstention from by-products of animals processed for food. There are variations of the diet such as an ovo-lacto vegetarian diet that includes both eggs and dairy products,  and a strict vegetarian diet – referred to as vegan – that excludes all animal products, including eggs and dairy.
Please be advised that some of our products contain animal products, including eggs, dairy, and honey and are referred to as suitable for an ovo-lacto vegetarian diet on our ingredients description and allergen information panel contrary to those identified in the same panel as suitable for strict vegetarians and vegan diet, and guaranteed to be exempt of such ingredients by the manufacturer.